Hutton Roof and Newbiggin

Between the Lakes and the Dales

Hutton Roof Fell Race 2012

Location in GB
Fell Race
Country Fair
Past Events
Future Events
Local Producers
This site is provided and maintained by Hutton Roof Village Hall

SAT. MAY 26th 2012

Junior Results Senior Results

Pete Bland Logo
Report on the 27TH Hutton Roof Crags race 26/05/12

In the build up to this race we have had a cold and wet winter but over the last few days the heat has built up in the sun baked limestone pavements. With record breaking high temperatures we had no fears of the rain spoiling our day. We did provide a drinks station this time however, but the temperature was so intense as runners ran alongside a wall on Farleton Knott it ‘felt like being in a furnace’.
As race organiser I was impressed with the speed the front runners completed the course but more impressive were the scores of ordinary runners of all ages who completed the race despite enduring the sweltering conditions for at least twice the time of the guys at the front. I was also impressed with the sensible way the runners set about their task, drinking from the finish station before setting off and clearly watching out for each other during and after finishing the race. They made sure no one collapsed with heat exhaustion. We had to refill the drinks station at one point the demand was so great. 207 runners entered the senior race.
Craig Roberts Kendal AC won the race for a second time had a great race and a blistering finish he was also 1st V40 in 49:23, 18 seconds faster than last year. Second was Tom Addison Helm Hill 49:42 and third Carl Bell 50:05 Howgill. First team were the ‘Addisons’ aka Helm Hill: Tom Mark and Shaun respectively and second was the Howgill team of Carl Bell Sam Fisher and Graham Moffatt. All in all it was quite a fast field, with the first seven runners coming home in under 55 minutes for 7miles and 1300 feet of climbing. 1st V50 Dave Neil Staffs moorland 54:42, !st V60 Mike Walsh Kendal AC 61:57 & 1st V70 Roger Bell Ambleside 71:42.
In the ladies race Melanie Hyder 57:31 Helm Hill was first making her debut at senior level having previously won all the junior races quite often beating the boys. Second was Holly Page Calder Valley 60:13 and third Lynne Clough first LV40 63:46 Chorley Harriers. First LV50 was Rowena Brown 70:23 Bowland and 1st LV60 was Wendy Dodds 71:14 Clayton. The team event was fiercely contested with Helm Hill and Chorley equal on points. Helm Hill Melanie Hyder, Caroline Holden and Victoria Upton, ‘edged it’ as they finished first as a team and had the first lady to finish.

The villagers have spent a lot of time preparing the courses and marshalling the routes this year. We have worked hard to keep the traditional Village Fete format whilst providing interesting fell runs for children from U8’s to the senior race.
The youngsters thoroughly enjoyed the twisting turns through the limestone rakes and then the fast finish along the track. 36 juniors took part and Ambleside AC were well represented. The competition was fierce with Arkholme school who also brought along a fit bunch of youngsters with Will Reid, Angus Haygarth and Anna Reid in amongst the prizes.

1st U8 Boys James Bowan Ambleside AC
1st U10 Boys Bob Evans
1st U12 Boys Cole Blackie Kendal AC
1st U18 Boys Jamie Gittins Broughton in Furness
1st U8 Girls Hannah Willison Hutton Roof
1st U10 Girls Chloe Rylance Ambleside AC
1st U12 Girls Anna Reid Arkholme
1st U14 Girls Scarlet Dale Hutton Roof
1st U16 Girls Rosie Dale Hutton Roof

Google Map posted at Kendal AC

2005 onwards PHOTO PRINTS or Downloads AVAILABLE from 50p + P&P
Or order to collect at the fell race.

Kendal Athletic Club

Rosie and Scarlet Dale and Hannah Willison were jointly awarded the cup for 1st local because all girls won their respective races. Congratulations to Mel Schofield and Michelle Smith both villagers who completed the senior course and made all of the blokes feel quite inadequate!

Don’t miss next years ‘cake race’ on the 25th May 2013. For any more information or to see the results and photos from this years race, log on to

John Dickinson. Race Organiser.

All content and images © Hutton Roof Village Hall 2006 - 2011 unless otherwise stated